The Helmet law in the United States generally covers the following:
➢ The laws that require all motorcycle riders should wear helmet in twenty states and the District of Columbia.
➢ The laws that require only some motorcycle riders in wearing a helmet in twenty seven States.
➢ In three states namely New Hampshire, Illinois and Iowa, no motorcycle riders helmet law is in use.
➢ The Laws that require some bicycle riders to wear a helmet in twenty one states and the District of Columbia
➢ In twenty-nine states, no law was imposed for bicycle riders to wear helmet.
There are many changes that happened with the motorcycle helmet laws when it was created in the United States. In 1967, in order to increase the use of motorcycle helmet, the federal government asks the states in enacting the helmet use laws. The purpose is to qualify certain safety programs of the federal government and the highway construction funds. The federal incentive pushed through. By the beginning of 1970s, almost the entire Unites States had motorcycle helmet laws. In 1968, Michigan becomes the first state in repealing its motorcycle helmet law, which also marked the beginning of a pattern of amendment, reenactment, and repeal of the motorcycle helmet laws. Consequently, in 1976, the states succeeded in lobbying Congress in stopping the Department of Transportation in assessing financial penalties on the states without helmet laws.
There is no State in the U.S. that has the universal bicycle helmet law. There are only twenty-one states and the District of Columbia that have bicycle helmet laws. These laws are only applied to your bicycle riders that are younger than sixteen. On the other hand, local ordinances in other few states require bicycle rider helmets for all riders.
The generic term low-power is used by the institute in order to cover the motor-driven cycles, scooters, mopeds, and others two-wheeled cycle that are excluded from the definition of a motorcycle. Although laws among the states vary, a cycle having an engine with 50 cu. Cm. or lesser, brake horsepower of two or lesser, and top speed of 30mph or lesser are considered typically as low-powered cycle. There are 22 states having motorcycle helmet laws covering all low-power cycles. The 25 states and the District of Columbia have laws covering some of low-power cycles.
Helmet laws in some States include:
➢ The motorcycle helmet use law of Alaska covers the riders of all ages, operators having instructional permits, and operators below 18 years old.
➢ The State of Florida requires all riders less than 21 years old should wear helmets. No exemption is imposed. The 21 years old and older can ride with no helmets, only with the proof that they have coverage for medical insurance.
➢ In Maine, the motorcycle laws cover operators having learner’s permit, operators and instructional permits, and operators having license for the first year.
➢ In Minnesota, motorcycle helmet laws cover operators with learners and instructional permits.
➢ The helmet use law of North Dakota covers all passengers that are traveling with operators that are covered by the law.
For more helmet laws, visit: